Beer + Tablet + Sculptris = Hellhound?

This evening I decided to take a break from my assignment briefs and have a play around with sculptris for a second time. The first time I used it I just played around with the tools to get a feel for it and realised how simple, yet powerful this software could be. After a few beers and with a belly full of food I sat down and started noodling around again. I pushed and I pulled and something that started to resemble a dog’s head appeared. With this basic form in place I looked at a few pictures of dogs heads for reference and started adding definition to the blank elongated sphere. I soon realised how simple is was to build up areas of  ‘Clay’ and rough out details to get a general feel for what you are trying to achieve. After a few more beers and a couple more hours of playing around I have produced something I’m satisfied with for a first real attempt as using this, quite frankly, amazing piece of free software.

The images that follow are my work in various stages. I would hope to also produce a video tutorial in the future for the interest of other people wanting to get to grips with the software.

There are a few things I would like to improve on one being the teeth, but overall I’m pleased with the outcome, and I’m sure ill use this piece of software again soon!

Leave a comment